[RECIPE] Thai Green Curry

Despite enjoying different types of cuisines, Asian food really holds a special place in my heart. For me, all Asian food is comfort food. As a Chinese-American (born and raised in the US), I’ve always been exposed to authentic Chinese food thanks to my grandparents who are fantastic cooks. Despite loving Chinese food so much, I really don’t cook much of it. I usually leave the Chinese cooking to my family and I myself, experiment with dishes from Korea, India, Japan, Vietnam etc…When I’m not cooking Asian food, I go to my American roots and experiment some more there. I know, it’s quite ironic.

Anyways, today, I will be sharing my attempt at green curry, my favorite Thai dish. I had my heart set on making the green curry paste from scratch but there were some ingredients that I just could not find. Not wanting to give up, I decided to look into pre-made pastes and figure out which brand tasted closest to the authentic dish. After some research,(thank you Rachel and random friends I’ve made on the Internet) I bought the green curry paste from Mae Ploy and Maesri. The original recipe I based mine off of is from Hot Thai Kitchen. I never follow a cooking recipe to the T because I like to adjust it to my liking so feel free to do so as well. I also don’t measure everything so I tried to give close approximations as best I could (mostly for the vegetables).

Ingredients 

  • 1 ¾ cup coconut milk, divided
  • 3 Tbsp green curry paste
  • 1 lb of boneless skinless chicken breasts, cubed
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 tsp of white sugar
  • 3-4 sprigs of Thai basil
  • 1 medium red pepper, julienned
  • 3/4 onion, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 medium eggplant, cubed
  • 1/2 medium carrot, cubed
  • 1-1.5 Tbsp of fish sauce
  • 1 Thai chili with 1/2 of the seeds removed
FullSizeRender 11
*not all ingredients are pictured

Notes

1. I used water instead of chicken stock because the curry paste gave it enough flavor and I was worried it would become too salty. 2. Pailin suggested to marinate the cubed chicken breasts in some fish sauce, therefore I cut down on the fish sauce during the later cooking process. 3. I HIGHY SUGGEST adding kaffir lime leaves to the recipe. I could not find any in my town sadly… 4. The Thai chili is very hot so be aware.

Instructions

Reduce 3/4 cup of coconut milk over medium heat until it is thick and the coconut oil starts to separate. My coconut milk did not do this so I just proceeded along by adding the curry paste and sautéed it for around 2 minutes.
FullSizeRender 10

Afterwards I added the rest of the coconut milk, water, and sugar and waited for it to boil. Once it started boiling, I added all my vegetables and the chicken, turned the heat down to simmer, and covered the pot. I let the curry simmer for 15-20 minutes and during the halfway point, I tasted it for seasoning and added about a extra tablespoon of fish sauce (this is all up to your taste so make sure to adjust, adjust adjust!) A minute before it was done, I added in the Thai chili and the basil.

FullSizeRender 12

And that’s it, super easy!

FullSizeRender 13

I can’t say this recipe is authentic but it was still very tasty. Also, if you like your veggies crunchy, add in the vegetables later to decrease its cooking time. I personally do not mind the veggies being on the softer side, which is why I cooked them for 15 minutes. Don’t forget that some vegetables cook quicker than others so adjust accordingly. If you want to make this dish vegetarian, you can omit the chicken and even substitute it for king oyster mushrooms – they hold up really well and can absorb the yummy sauce 🙂 Overall, I think this was a successful first attempt and I hope to improve and achieve a better depth of flavor next time. If you guys try this out, please tell me it goes!

With love, Suze

 

Author: Suze

Hi! I'm Suze, an upcoming college freshman who loves to share great stuff I find - whether it's music, food, skincare products, or destinations. You'll find me ramble a lot in my posts...oh, I also make a mean cup of tea.

2 thoughts on “[RECIPE] Thai Green Curry”

Leave a comment